Gay marriage rant

26 Mar

I firmly believe that if we, as a society, retain a certain set of rights for ourselves, then those rights should be available to ALL people, regardless of ideological differences or something as arbitrary and flexible as gender roles. That is not radical thinking; that is basic human decency.

That point aside, these right-wing “Christian” zealots have already come after straight rights as well (women’s reproductive rights is what I’m specifically referring to) and they will continue to do so as long as they can find 20,000 assholes in WA to sign their petition seeking to overturn a fundamental right that was granted to people in Washington state 4 years ago. As Dan Savage is fond of saying, “Straights, you’re next.”

The agenda exists to shoehorn the archaic “morals” of a few onto the lives of the many. These people want all of us to have nothing but missionary tab-into-slot sex, and they want us to hate it, and they want us to do it not for pleasure or an emotional connection, but because they want more mewling little right wing monsters like them to be born into a world where your choice of romantic partner is the sole definition of your humanity.

Do the politicians up there not have better things to do than try to regulate what happens in someone’s bedroom? Color me ignorant, but I will NEVER be able to wrap my mind around the notion that gay marriage is some sort of cataclysm that will rip society at the seams. If you can show me peer-reviewed, empirical data that gay marriage will result in utter anarchy and dogs & cats living together and the downfall of Western civilization, I promise I will carefully consider it. But you will NEVER be able to show me anything of the sort.

The fact that we debate this blows my mind. Love is love. You don’t get a say in who you love – if you love someone, you love them. We straights get to reserve the rights that come with marriage at will. This should be true for everyone. By attempting to regulate out of matrimonial existence 10 to 15% of the population, these fundamentalists deny these rights to loving couples whose only “transgression” is that they have the same stuff between their legs.

I sincerely hope that my homosexual friends know that I am their ally, and I will stand in the rain with a picket sign, I will march down the street flying the rainbow flag, I will go to jail for beating up Fred Phelps if that’s what it takes, I will fight tooth and nail and claw for the opportunity for my friends to love whomever they choose and benefit from the same rights that the rest of us take for granted. I will give up my own set of rights and matrimonial freedom if it means that my gay friends – and I have many – can be with the people they love.

Why should I get married and flaunt a right that only exists because I’m conforming to a gender role? Life is nasty, brutish, and short. It’s the only one you have, and you should live it your way, and the people you love make it all worthwhile. NO ONE has the authority to strip that away from anyone else.

I am a proud straight ally and will fight for marriage equality until this is no longer an issue. And I don’t have to respect any “opinions” to the contrary. To me, this is a no-brainer. Love is our greatest intangible – it sustains us. It should sustain EVERYONE.

Sorry for the soapbox, but I truly feel that I have no business ever getting married and contributing to a system that excludes beautiful, loving human beings from a fundamental right. And I won’t get married until everyone can get married. That’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

