They’ll never take our freedom

13 Feb

William Wallace never said that, by the way. Thanks, Hollywood!

So, it’s time to make a change. Right now, I don’t know where I’ll be in August – could be in school, could be gainfully employed, could be on top of a mountain in India, could be fighting forest fires from a helicopter.

All I know is this – I AM FREE – and not tied to anyone or anything. What an incredible gift! I feel like an idiot for taking so long to realize this, and for taking 28 years to realize that not only should I actively pursue what I dream of doing, but that I DESERVE to do what I dream of doing. And I dream of doing lots of different things. I want to be one of those cool people who grows orchids in the front window of a hipster bookstore and smokes peyote with Najavo elders. I want to be one of those people who climbs K2 or Everest because it’s there. I want to sleep all day and play jazz in clubs all night.

I’m working on my resume and applying for teaching jobs. And jobs with the U.S. Forest Service. And maybe even Navy Officer Candidate School. And I’m going to start gigging with a new music group. Or I might move to L.A. and try to find work as a score supervisor/orchestrator for film and television. Or I might join the Peace Corps. I don’t know.

But I’m definitely jammed in a rut, and something needs to be different. Never again may I have this much personal freedom, so I’m going to do it. I’m inquiring into and applying for anything that suits my fancy right now, no matter how dangerous or far away. I want to travel and have fun adventures, and I want to do that now. Don’t make me beg, universe. I’m here to tell you how this is going to go, and you’re going to listen.

Leave a Reply

